Commencement Address and Honorary Doctoral Degree


The Honorable Holly J. MitchellBiography
Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, Second District

Board Medal of Honor

Mr. Howard Kahn, MA | Biography
 Member, CDU Board of Trustees,
Chief Executive Officer, L.A. Care Health Plan (retired)

President’s Medal

Michael R. BloombergBiography
Founder, Bloomberg LP & Bloomberg Philanthropies
108th Mayor of New York City; President’s Medal Recipient


Honorary Doctoral Degree (Humane Letters)

Barbara Ferrer, PhD, MPH, MEdBiography
Director, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health


Anthony S. Fauci, MDBiography
Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases 

Awards & Honors

Faculty Honors

The Academic Senate of Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science is happy to announce the recipients of the 2021 Outstanding Faculty Awards:

2021 Outstanding Professor

Dr. Roberto Vargas
Assistant Dean, Health Policy and Inter-Professional Education;
Director, Health Services Research and Policy Core, Urban Health Institute

2021 Outstanding Service

Dr. Delia Santana
 Assistant Director, Entry Level Master Nursing Program;
Director, Clinical Education; Campus Nursing Officer

2021 Outstanding Teaching

Dr. Ingrid Roberts-Terrell (posthumous)
Assistant Director, Entry Level Masters Program; Assistant Professor
 Director ATI, Clinical Placement, Simulation/Skill Lab

2021 Outstanding Research 

Dr. Magda Shaheen
Associate Professor; Director, AXIS Research Design and Biostatistics Core
Director, UHI Statistical Research Design & Methodology Core