Psychiatry Residency Program Faculty

Dr. Denese Shervington
Chair, Department of Psychiatry


Dr. Denese Shervington is the Chair of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at Charles Drew University School of Medicine. A graduate of New York University School of Medicine, she completed her residency in Psychiatry at the University of California San Francisco and is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.  Dr. Shervington also received a Masters of Public Health in Population Studies and Family Planning from Tulane University School of Public Health. She has an intersectional career in public health, clinical, and academic psychiatry. After Hurricane Katrina, she created a post-disaster emotional recovery and resilience division at the community-based non-profit public health organization that she founded, the Institute of Women and Ethnic Studies. She has also held academic appointments as Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Columbia University in NY and Tulane University in New Orleans. She previously served as Department Chair of Psychiatry at Meharry University and as Director of Psychiatry at Harlem Hospital. She also served as the Deputy Assistant for Population Affairs at the Department of Health and Human Services in Washington DC.  In 2018, Dr. Shervington received the Award for Excellence in Service and Advocacy from the American Psychiatric Association.  In 2012, she received the Jeanne Spurlock Minority award from the American Psychiatric Association.  Dr. Shervington is a member of the American College of Psychiatrists. She has authored several papers in peer-reviewed journals addressing health disparities, the social determinants of health and resilience in underserved communities. Dr. Shervington is the mother of two magnificent children and two amazing grandchildren.